Skip to content
Orca Travel Collection

Orca Travel Guides

What it really costs per day — and is it worth it?

Every number below comes from an official survey, a published rate card or a named industry source, with the date we checked it. Where nobody publishes a number, we say unknown instead of guessing.

Facts checked as of Oct 25, 2026 (PT)

How we count

  • Per person, per day, in US dollars. Hotel rooms are shown per room and, where noted, split between two people.
  • 'Federal benchmark' means the U.S. GSA FY2027 per-diem rate — a government cap for business travel, not a hotel quote. It's a useful baseline for a basic, decent room and meals.
  • Sample days add up only the lines shown. Flights, rental cars, shopping and activities are extra.
  • Prices change; check the source before you book.

Wine country (Napa & Sonoma)

Napa's own survey: average overnight visitor spend (2025)

$771 per day

Visit Napa Valley doesn't say whether this is per person or per travel party. Average stay: 4.4 nights.

Sources:Visit Napa Valley — 2025 visitor profile & economic impact

ItemBudgetMidLuxurySource
Hotel room per night (room, not per person)$163 (Santa Rosa / Sonoma federal benchmark)$423.82 (Napa County average daily rate, 2025)Unknown
Tasting fee per person$47 (Sonoma average standard)$79 (Napa average standard)$125 (Napa average reserve)
Meals per person per day$86 (federal meals allowance, Santa Rosa)$92 (federal meals allowance, Napa)Unknown
Tip for the tasting host (per couple)$10–$15 (bar)$15–$20 (seated)$20+ (boutique)

Sample day per person

Budget

$261.50

Mid

$461.91

Luxury

Unknown

Per person: half a shared room + two tastings + the federal meals allowance. Budget = Sonoma; mid = Napa. Luxury is unknown because there's no published average for top-end resort rooms.

Is it worth it?

Worth it when

If you're the kind of person who'll remember the wine, the place and the people — a seated tasting with a good host is one of the best-value luxuries in California.

Not worth it when

If you're only there to drink: two Napa standard tastings average $158 per person before tip. Sonoma averages $47 a tasting. And don't drive between tastings.

Our tip

Do two or three tastings a day, not five. Go in November, December–February or March–May for fewer crowds.

Ski (US, peak season Dec–Mar)

Peak walk-up lift tickets, 2026-27

Vail $374 · Park City $369 · Deer Valley $349 · Breckenridge $332 · Snowbird $239

Off-peak and advance tickets are cheaper. Big Sky, Palisades, Snowmass, Jackson Hole and Mammoth peak prices: unknown.

Sources:TownLift — 2026-27 peak window ticket prices (Sep 4, 2026)

ItemBudgetMidLuxurySource
Lift access per day$124.14 (Epic Local $869 spread over 7 days)$374 (Vail peak walk-up)$374 (same lift ticket — luxury is lodging, lessons and service)
Hotel room per night, Dec–Mar (room)$296 (Breckenridge federal benchmark)$417 (Vail federal benchmark)Unknown
Meals per person per day$92 (federal meals allowance)$92Unknown
Private lesson tip—$50 half-day / $100 full day$100 full day, or 15–25% of the lesson
Lessons, rentalsUnknownUnknownUnknown

Sample day per person

Budget

$364.14

Mid

$674.50

Luxury

Unknown

Per person: lift access + half a shared room + the federal meals allowance. Budget = Breckenridge on Epic Local over 7 days; mid = Vail walk-up. Park City walk-up works out at $710.50.

Is it worth it?

Worth it when

If you'll ski 3–4+ days at Vail, Park City or Breckenridge on Epic, or 5+ at Deer Valley on Ikon, a pass beats peak walk-up tickets. Bought in time, it's the single biggest saving in skiing.

Not worth it when

Walk-up at peak is the worst deal in travel: the Alps list big-area day tickets around €75–€85 (Tignes €75, Arlberg €85, season not stated) against $332–$374 at the priciest US resorts.

Our tip

See the pass math on /ski/passes. Avoid Christmas–New Year, MLK and Presidents' Day weekends if your pass has blackouts.

Hawaiʻi beaches

State survey: average visitor spend per person per day (2025)

Statewide $260 · Maui $305 · Kauaʻi $282 · Hawaiʻi Island $246 · Oʻahu $238

All spending, lodging included. Average stay: 8.66 days.

Sources:Hawaiʻi DBEDT — 2025 Annual Visitor Research Report

ItemBudgetMidLuxurySource
Hotel room per night (statewide average, 2025)$215.87 (midscale & economy)$328.06 (upper upscale)$862.82 (luxury class)
Hotel per person (room shared by two)$107.94$164.03$431.41
December premium—Statewide average $449.12 in Dec 2025 vs $366.66 for the yearLuxury $1,220.62 in Dec 2025 vs $862.82
Beach fees (examples)Hanauma Bay $25 non-resident entryKamaʻole (Maui) parking $10/day non-resident—

Sample day per person

Budget

Unknown

Mid

$260 (state average, all-in)

Luxury

Unknown

We don't publish a sample day for Hawaiʻi beyond the state's own survey because meal costs by band aren't published.

Is it worth it?

Worth it when

The beach fees we found are small (Hanauma Bay $25, Kamaʻole parking $10 a day). A midscale room at $215.87 a night versus a luxury-class room at $862.82 is the real decision.

Not worth it when

December and luxury-class rooms ($1,220.62 average in Dec 2025) — you're paying for the holiday and the brand, not better water.

Our tip

Match the shore to the season: north shores in summer, south and west in winter. Check the /beaches/hawaii guide.

Golf

Per golfer, per round — green fee + caddie, no lodging

See lines below

Lodging is separate. Prices are each course's published 2026 rates.

Sources:Pebble Beach — Golf Links rates

ItemBudgetMidLuxurySource
Green fee$258 weekday (Torrey Pines South, non-resident) — twilight $156$375 (Bandon Dunes, Jun–Sep, resort guest) / $475 (Kapalua Plantation)$695 (Pebble Beach Golf Links) + $60 cart if not a resort guest
Caddie fee—$125 per bag (Bandon) plus gratuity$175 single bag (Pebble)
Caddie tip—Not stated by Bandon$100+ per bag single caddie (Pebble's suggestion)
Lodging per night (room)$208 (San Diego federal benchmark)UnknownUp to $2,300 (top of Bandon Dunes' published lodging range)

Sample day per person

Budget

$308 (Torrey South weekday + $50 advance booking fee)

Mid

$500 + caddie tip (Bandon peak + caddie)

Luxury

$1,030 (Pebble: fee + cart + caddie + suggested tip)

One round per golfer, lodging not included.

Is it worth it?

Worth it when

A bucket-list course once — with a caddie — is worth it for most serious golfers. The caddie is often the best part.

Not worth it when

If you're playing for score or exercise, Pebble's $1,030 round costs about four times Torrey Pines South on a weekday ($258). And Bandon in June–September costs nearly three times December ($375 vs $130).

Our tip

Book shoulder months — Bandon April ($260), Scottsdale April–May.

Yacht charter

Caribbean crewed catamaran, median week (2026, high season)

$31,500 all-inclusive

Middle half: $25,000–$43,000. Motor yachts: $118,800 median with APA folded in.

Sources:Vital Charters — Caribbean yacht charter cost 2026

Base rate

The boat and crew for the week. Every other number is a percentage of this.

APA (Advance Provisioning Allowance)

Paid up front for fuel, food, drinks, berths: typically 25–35% of the base for sailing yachts and catamarans, 35–40% for motor yachts on MYBA terms. Unused APA is refunded. Caribbean catamarans are usually all-inclusive instead.

VAT (Greece)

13% standard for crewed charters, cut to 5.2% (unlimited navigation) or 6.5% (limited navigation). Static charters and those under 48 hours: 13% per SOS Yachting — one broker says 24%. Ask yours.

Tip

Brokers advise 5–20% of the base fee, lower in the Med and higher in the US and Caribbean; the Caribbean custom is 15–20%. MYBA's 2026 guidelines no longer give a figure.

Greece, $178,000 all-in (Ethan's charter): what was the base fee?

$178,000 all-in, including the $20,000 crew tip → $158,000 for the charter itself (base + APA + VAT, including fuel)

Estimated base fee: $99,371–$114,493. Formula: base = $158,000 ÷ (1 + APA + VAT). Low end: APA 35% + VAT 24% → $158,000 ÷ 1.59 = $99,371 (APA $34,780, VAT $23,849). High end: APA 25% + VAT 13% → $158,000 ÷ 1.38 = $114,493 (APA $28,623, VAT $14,884).

Per person per day: Unknown

Estimate, not an invoice. Assumes APA of 25–35% of the base fee and Greek VAT of 13% or 24% charged on the base fee only (VAT doesn't apply to APA or the tip). The $178,000 includes the $20,000 tip, so the charter itself was $158,000. A crewed charter longer than 48 hours is normally taxed at 13% or less, so 24% is the worst case and the true base is more likely toward the high end. Per-person cost depends on guests and nights, which we haven't published.

Sources:HELM — What is an APA?George Yachts — Greek yacht charter VAT explained (2026)IYC — Charter taxes & VATSOS Yachting — VAT in GreeceEthan Bixby, founder — first-hand account

Is it worth it?

Worth it when

Split 8 ways, a crewed Caribbean catamaran is about $560–$680 per person per day with food, drinks and crew — and you wake up somewhere new.

Not worth it when

For two people, or anyone who gets seasick or wants nightlife every night. Plus-expenses motor yachts in the Med add 25–40% APA, VAT and a tip on top of the headline rate.

Our tip

Ask the broker for the landed total — base + APA + VAT + tip — before you compare boats.

Related

Sources