Skip to content
Orca Travel Collection
Snow-covered Alpine peaks and ski pistes

The Orca Ski Series

The Best Ski Resorts in the US & the World, 2026-27

Two top-10 lists, scored on seven measurable criteria — with season dates, passes, airport transfers and what's new for 2026-27.

Facts checked as of Oct 25, 2026 (PT)

Download the PDF guide

How we scored

Scoring method
CriterionMax pointsWhat is measuredSource
Lift-served vertical15top lift station minus lowest lift base; 1,800 m (5,900 ft)+ = full marksskiresort.info
Size15US: skiable acres (5,000 = full); world: km of marked pistes (300 km = full)resort page / OnTheSnow; skiresort.info
Average snowfall151,100 cm (433 in) = full; unknown when no reliable figure (all Alpine resorts)official figure, else OnTheSnow
Snow reliability15rating, top elevation and season length, equal thirdsskiresort.info
Lifts10lift count and lift-quality ratingskiresort.info
Expert terrain15km of difficult runs, share of difficult runs, expert ratingskiresort.info
Village15accommodation, après-ski and dining ratingsskiresort.info test reports

Missing data is never filled in: an unknown criterion is dropped and the total re-scaled (points earned ÷ points available × 100). Alpine resorts publish no reliable average snowfall, so they're scored out of 85. US size uses acres and world size uses piste-km, so the two lists are close to — not exactly — comparable.

Top 10 in the US

Top 10 in the US
#ResortScorew/o snowVerticalSizeSnowfallReliabilityLiftsExpertVillagePasses
1Big SkyMontana, USA85.684.411.115.013.913.38.310.014.0
2VailColorado, USA84.084.48.915.012.313.66.814.413.0
3Park CityUtah, USA81.281.08.115.012.311.27.515.012.0
4Palisades TahoeCalifornia, USA80.378.27.115.013.912.17.612.712.0
5SnowmassColorado, USA79.080.711.210.010.413.85.715.013.0
6BreckenridgeColorado, USA77.977.28.28.712.315.06.913.813.0
7Jackson HoleWyoming, USA75.971.610.57.515.011.85.112.913.0
8Deer ValleyUtah, USA73.974.77.813.510.411.17.49.714.0
9MammothCalifornia, USA72.671.27.910.512.113.86.19.313.0
10SnowbirdUtah, USA71.866.88.27.515.013.85.211.111.0

7 criteria, 100 points. Unknown criteria are dropped and the total re-scaled, never estimated.

Also scored: Telluride 69.3 · Alta Ski Area 68.4 · Steamboat 63.5 · Taos Ski Valley 59.9

Top 10 in the World

Top 10 in the World
#ResortScorew/o snowVerticalSizeSnowfallReliabilityLiftsExpertVillagePasses
1Tignes–Val d'IsèreSavoie, France92.192.115.015.0—13.39.011.015.0
2Verbier 4 ValléesValais, Switzerland91.591.515.015.0—13.09.012.813.0
3Les 3 ValléesSavoie, France90.390.315.015.0—12.99.09.915.0
4Zermatt–CerviniaValais / Aosta Valley, Switzerland/Italy89.389.315.015.0—15.09.27.614.0
5Ski ArlbergTyrol / Vorarlberg, Austria86.586.512.615.0—11.110.09.915.0
6Ischgl–SamnaunTyrol / Graubünden, Austria/Switzerland83.283.212.611.9—11.88.810.715.0
7Whistler BlackcombBritish Columbia, Canada78.975.613.410.014.610.76.210.913.0
8Val GardenaSouth Tyrol, Italy70.770.710.79.1—9.810.06.614.0
9KitzSkiTyrol, Austria70.470.410.09.4—9.19.87.414.0
10RevelstokeBritish Columbia, Canada64.659.214.32.814.38.24.610.610.0

7 criteria, 100 points. Unknown criteria are dropped and the total re-scaled, never estimated.

Also scored: Lake Louise 61.1 · Banff Sunshine 58.8 · Chamonix – Grands Montets 55.3 · Niseko United 54.2

US top 10

No. 1

Big Sky Resort

Montana, USA

85.6/ 100

2,073–3,403 m · Lift-served vertical 1,330 m (4,363 ft) · 5,850 skiable acres · 250 piste km (47 difficult km) · 40 lifts · Snowfall 1,016 cm / 400 in

Season 2026-27

Opens Nov 25 2026; daily ops to Apr 11 2027, bonus weekends to closing day Apr 25 2027Source

Fly to

Bozeman Yellowstone Intl (BZN) · ~45–51 mi, about 1 h–1 h 15 min in good conditionsSource

Peak window ticket

Unknown — No verified 2026-27 peak window price; resorts use dynamic pricing.

US$ 285 · skiresort.info listed adult day ticket (season not stated)Source

Passes

Ikon Pass: Ikon Pass 7 days · Ikon Base 5 days · Ikon Session (2–4 days). The Tram costs extra.Source

Mountain Collective: Mountain Collective 2 daysSource

New for 2026-27

First full season of the Explorer Gondola and Kircliff (per resort press kit)Partly verifiedpress kit, undated

From a search summary of the resort press kit; the page itself wasn't opened.

No. 2

Vail

Colorado, USA

84.0/ 100

2,457–3,527 m · Lift-served vertical 1,070 m (3,510 ft) · 5,317 skiable acres · 234 piste km (93 difficult km) · 34 lifts · Snowfall 899 cm / 354 in

Season 2026-27

Opens Nov 13 2026 (weather permitting); closing date not yet announcedTo confirmSource

Fly to

Eagle County Regional (EGE); Denver Intl (DEN) is the big-hub alternative · EGE ~30–35 mi, 40–45 min; DEN ~100+ mi, about 2 h (I-70 traffic/weather)Source

Peak window ticket

$374 adult, peak date 2026-27Source

Passes

Epic Pass: Epic Pass unlimitedSource

Epic Pass: Epic Local: 10 days total at Vail, Beaver Creek and Whistler Blackcomb, no peak datesSource

New for 2026-27

New "Epic Ascent" private-lesson concierge service2026-27 season (Vail Daily)

Altitude

Base ≥2,450 m (8,000 ft): CDC says ~25% of visitors sleeping above 8,000 ft in Colorado get AMS

No. 3

Park City Mountain

Utah, USA

81.2/ 100

2,073–3,048 m · Lift-served vertical 975 m (3,199 ft) · 7,300 skiable acres · 250 piste km (125 difficult km) · 42 lifts · Snowfall 902 cm / 355 in

Season 2026-27

Targets Nov 20 2026; listed season through Apr 19 2027To confirmSource

Fly to

Salt Lake City Intl (SLC) · about 35 min driveSource

Peak window ticket

$369 adult, peak date 2026-27Source

Passes

Epic Pass: Epic Pass unlimitedSource

Epic Pass: Epic Local unlimited except peak datesSource

New for 2026-27

10-person Canyons Village Skyway gondola replaces the Cabriolet; first test laps reported Oct 2026TownLift, Oct 2026

Silverlode, Eagle/Eaglet and Crescent lift upgrades are for 2027-28, not this seasonVail Resorts newsroom

No. 4

Palisades Tahoe

California, USA

80.3/ 100

1,890–2,745 m · Lift-served vertical 855 m (2,805 ft) · 6,000 skiable acres · 200 piste km (65 difficult km) · 43 lifts · Snowfall 1,016 cm / 400 in

Season 2026-27

Opens Nov 25 2026 (conditions permitting); closing not announcedTo confirmSource

Fly to

Reno-Tahoe Intl (RNO) · about 45 min drive (official); airport shuttle schedule ~60 minSource

Peak window ticket

Unknown — No verified 2026-27 peak window price; resorts use dynamic pricing.

US$ 290 · skiresort.info listed adult day ticket (season not stated)Source

Passes

Ikon Pass: Ikon Pass and Ikon Base unlimited · Ikon Session (2–4 days)Source

New for 2026-27

Remote avalanche-control tech, 3 new diesel-electric snowcats, expanded snowmaking on Mountain Run, $799 Beginner Progression Passresort blog, 2026-27

No. 5

Snowmass (Aspen Snowmass)

Colorado, USA

79.0/ 100

2,473–3,813 m · Lift-served vertical 1,340 m (4,396 ft) · 3,342 skiable acres · 237 piste km (111 difficult km) · 20 lifts · Snowfall 762 cm / 300 in

Season 2026-27

Opens Nov 26 2026 (Meadows beginner terrain first); closes Apr 11 2027Source

Fly to

Aspen/Pitkin County (ASE); DEN as alternative · ASE ~6–7 mi, 10–15 min; DEN about 4 hSource

Peak window ticket

Unknown — No verified 2026-27 peak window price; resorts use dynamic pricing.

US$ 279 · skiresort.info listed adult day ticket (season not stated)Source

Passes

Ikon Pass: Ikon Pass 7 days total across the four Aspen Snowmass mountains · Ikon Base 5 days, Snowmass onlySource

Mountain Collective: Mountain Collective 2 daysSource

New for 2026-27

New high-speed six-pack Elk Camp lift, upgraded Cirque T-bar, rebuilt all-electric Ullrhof restaurantAspen Snowmass "recent improvements"

Altitude

Base ≥2,450 m (8,000 ft): CDC says ~25% of visitors sleeping above 8,000 ft in Colorado get AMS

No. 6

Breckenridge

Colorado, USA

77.9/ 100

2,926–3,914 m · Lift-served vertical 988 m (3,241 ft) · 2,908 skiable acres · 153 piste km (65 difficult km) · 35 lifts · Snowfall 901 cm / 355 in

Season 2026-27

Opens Nov 6 2026 (weather permitting); official closing date not yet listedTo confirmSource

Fly to

Denver Intl (DEN) · 104 mi; about 2 h in light conditions, 2.5–3 h+ in storms/peak trafficSource

Peak window ticket

$332 adult, peak date 2026-27Source

Passes

Epic Pass: Epic Pass and Epic Local unlimited, peak dates includedSource

New for 2026-27

Remote Wyssen avalanche-control system on Peak 7 (faster high-alpine openings); "Kingdom of Breck" events/après programSummit Daily, 2026-27 upgrades roundup

Altitude

Base ≥2,450 m (8,000 ft): CDC says ~25% of visitors sleeping above 8,000 ft in Colorado get AMS

No. 7

Jackson Hole Mountain Resort

Wyoming, USA

75.9/ 100

1,924–3,185 m · Lift-served vertical 1,261 m (4,137 ft) · 2,500 skiable acres · 116 piste km (50 difficult km) · 13 lifts · Snowfall 1,163 cm / 458 in

Season 2026-27

Opens Nov 27 2026; resort says closing day not yet set (OnTheSnow projects Apr 11 2027)ProjectedTo confirmSource

Fly to

Jackson Hole Airport (JAC) · ~20 mi, about 36 minSource

Peak window ticket

Unknown — No verified 2026-27 peak window price; resorts use dynamic pricing.

US$ 304 · skiresort.info listed adult day ticket (season not stated)Source

Passes

Ikon Pass: Ikon Pass 7 days, reservations required · not on Ikon Base or SessionSource

Mountain Collective: Mountain Collective 2 days, reservations requiredSource

New for 2026-27

Daily capacity management continues; Ikon and Mountain Collective holders must reserveSnowBrains, 2026-27 opening-date article

RFID lockers and dryers at Solitude Stationresort winter page

No. 8

Deer Valley

Utah, USA

73.9/ 100

1,984–2,917 m · Lift-served vertical 933 m (3,061 ft) · 4,500 skiable acres · 202 piste km (40 difficult km) · 41 lifts · Snowfall 762 cm / 300 in

Season 2026-27

Opens Dec 5 2026; closing projected (OnTheSnow Mar 28 2027; skiresort.info Apr 11 2027) – not officially confirmedProjectedTo confirmSource

Fly to

Salt Lake City Intl (SLC) · 38-mile drive (official); allow ~45–55 minSource

Peak window ticket

$349 adult, peak date 2026-27Source

Passes

Ikon Pass: Ikon Pass 7 days, reservations required · not on Ikon Base or SessionSource

New for 2026-27

Hail Peak Express opens 200 new acres and 7 runs; resort reaches 4,500 skiable acres, 32 lifts, 209 runspress release, Jun 29 2026

No. 9

Mammoth Mountain

California, USA

72.6/ 100

2,424–3,369 m · Lift-served vertical 945 m (3,100 ft) · 3,500 skiable acres · 89.8 piste km (22.9 difficult km) · 25 lifts · Snowfall 889 cm / 350 in

Season 2026-27

Opens Nov 13 2026; closing not announced (OnTheSnow projects Jun 6 2027)ProjectedTo confirmSource

Fly to

Mammoth Yosemite (MMH, limited service); Reno (RNO) ~3 h · MMH ~10 mi, 15–20 min; RNO about 3 h / 160 mi via US-395Source

Peak window ticket

Unknown — No verified 2026-27 peak window price; resorts use dynamic pricing.

US$ 259 · skiresort.info listed adult day ticket (season not stated)Source

Passes

Ikon Pass: Ikon Pass and Ikon Base unlimited · Ikon Session (2–4 days)Source

New for 2026-27

No new lift for 2026-27; new avalanche-control infrastructure (resort "What's New" sheet)2026-27 What's New PDF

No. 10

Snowbird

Utah, USA

71.8/ 100

2,365–3,353 m · Lift-served vertical 988 m (3,241 ft) · 2,500 skiable acres · 103 piste km (36 difficult km) · 14 lifts · Snowfall 1,270 cm / 500 in

Season 2026-27

Opens Nov 27 2026 (conditions permitting); closing not announced (OnTheSnow projects May 31 2027)ProjectedTo confirmSource

Fly to

Salt Lake City Intl (SLC) · ~29 mi, about 40 min (45–60 min in storms; canyon road can close)Source

Peak window ticket

$239 adult, peak date 2026-27Source

Passes

Ikon Pass: Ikon Pass 7 days combined with Alta · Ikon Base 5 daysSource

Mountain Collective: Mountain Collective 2 daysSource

New for 2026-27

New fixed-grip Chickadee quad, improved beginner terrain, 11 new automated snow gunsVisit Salt Lake, 2026-27 preview

World top 10

No. 1

Tignes–Val d'Isère

Savoie, France

92.1/ 100

1,550–3,456 m · Lift-served vertical 1,906 m (6,253 ft) · 300 piste km (60 difficult km) · 80 lifts · Snowfall Unknown

Season 2026-27

Linked area Nov 28 2026 – May 2 2027 (Tignes opens progressively from Nov 21)Source

Fly to

Chambéry (CMF, mostly weekend charters); Geneva (GVA) main hub · CMF about 2 h; GVA about 3 h by carSource

Peak window ticket

Unknown — No verified 2026-27 peak window price; resorts use dynamic pricing.

€ 75 · skiresort.info listed adult day ticket (season not stated)Source

Passes

Not on Epic, Ikon, Mountain Collective or Indy. Buy lift tickets direct (listed adult day ticket €75 per skiresort.info).

New for 2026-27

No new lift found in official 2026-27 sources

No. 2

Verbier 4 Vallées

Valais, Switzerland

91.5/ 100

1,350–3,330 m · Lift-served vertical 1,980 m (6,496 ft) · 412 piste km (103 difficult km) · 65 lifts · Snowfall Unknown

Season 2026-27

Nov 1 2026 – Apr 26 2027 per Verbier.com (sector-specific; most sectors from Dec 5)Source

Fly to

Geneva (GVA) · about 2 h 40 by train to Le Châble + 20 min lift/bus (official); weekend Verbier Express ~2 h 25Source

Peak window ticket

Unknown — No verified 2026-27 peak window price; resorts use dynamic pricing.

CHF 94 · skiresort.info listed adult day ticket (season not stated)Source

Passes

Epic Pass: Epic Pass 5 consecutive days · Epic Local 5 consecutive days, not on peak dates or Feb 6–20, 2027Source

New for 2026-27

New Esserts–Savoleyres télémixte due Dec 2026, completing the ski link Verbier ↔ La Tzoumazallverbier.ch / ESI

No. 3

Les 3 Vallées (Courchevel / Méribel / Val Thorens)

Savoie, France

90.3/ 100

1,100–3,230 m · Lift-served vertical 2,130 m (6,988 ft) · 600 piste km (60 difficult km) · 159 lifts · Snowfall Unknown

Season 2026-27

Val Thorens Nov 21 2026 – May 2 2027; full linked area from Dec 5; Courchevel/Méribel to Apr 18 2027Source

Fly to

Geneva (GVA); also Chambéry, Lyon, Grenoble · GVA typically ~2 h 30 (Courchevel/Méribel) to ~2 h 45 (Val Thorens) in normal conditionsSource

Peak window ticket

Unknown — No verified 2026-27 peak window price; resorts use dynamic pricing.

€ 84.20 · skiresort.info listed adult day ticket (season not stated)Source

Passes

Epic Pass: Epic Pass 7 consecutive days · not on Epic LocalSource

New for 2026-27

Châtelet chairlift reopens (Méribel-Mottaret), upgraded La Tania cabins, Rhodos gondola renovation continuesLes 3 Vallées news, winter 2026/27

No. 4

Zermatt–Cervinia (Matterhorn Ski Paradise)

Valais / Aosta Valley, Switzerland/Italy

89.3/ 100

1,562–3,899 m · Lift-served vertical 2,337 m (7,667 ft) · 322 piste km (27 difficult km) · 51 lifts · Snowfall Unknown

Season 2026-27

Main season Nov 1 2026 – May 2 2027; glacier skiing year-roundSource

Fly to

Zurich (ZRH) or Geneva (GVA) · train about 3.5 h from ZRH, about 4 h from GVA (change at Visp); car-free villageSource

Peak window ticket

Unknown — No verified 2026-27 peak window price; resorts use dynamic pricing.

CHF 116 · skiresort.info listed adult day ticket (season not stated)Source

Passes

Ikon Pass: Ikon Pass 7 days · Ikon Base 5 days (Zermatt Nov 1–Apr 30; Cervinia via Valle d'Aosta — a Zermatt-to-Cervinia day counts at both)Source

New for 2026-27

New 6-seat Patrullarve chairlift (Patrullarve–Blauherd), first winter 2026/27Zermatt Bergbahnen news

No. 5

Ski Arlberg (St. Anton / Lech / Zürs)

Tyrol / Vorarlberg, Austria

86.5/ 100

1,304–2,811 m · Lift-served vertical 1,507 m (4,944 ft) · 300 piste km (49.7 difficult km) · 85 lifts · Snowfall Unknown

Season 2026-27

St. Anton & Lech/Zürs Dec 2 2026 – Apr 18 2027 (Warth-Schröcken from Dec 4)Source

Fly to

Innsbruck (INN); Zurich (ZRH) · INN ~100 km, about 1 h 15; ZRH ~200 km, Arlberg Express ~2 h 30–40Source

Peak window ticket

Unknown — No verified 2026-27 peak window price; resorts use dynamic pricing.

€ 85 · skiresort.info listed adult day ticket (season not stated)Source

Passes

Epic Pass: Epic Pass 3 consecutive days, only with a stay at participating Arlberg lodgingSource

New for 2026-27

No new lift found in official 2026-27 sources

No. 6

Ischgl / Samnaun (Silvretta Arena)

Tyrol / Graubünden, Austria/Switzerland

83.2/ 100

1,360–2,872 m · Lift-served vertical 1,512 m (4,961 ft) · 239 piste km (52 difficult km) · 45 lifts · Snowfall Unknown

Season 2026-27

Nov 26 2026 – May 2 2027Source

Fly to

Innsbruck (INN) · ~100 km, about 1 h 20 by car (2.5–4 h public transport)Source

Peak window ticket

Unknown — No verified 2026-27 peak window price; resorts use dynamic pricing.

€ 83 · skiresort.info listed adult day ticket (season not stated)Source

Passes

Ikon Pass: Ikon Pass 7 days · Ikon Base 5 days (incl. Samnaun)Source

New for 2026-27

New Höllkarbahn 8-seat chairlift opening day one (4,200 pph, heated seats)Snow-Online

No. 7

Whistler Blackcomb

British Columbia, Canada

78.9/ 100

675–2,284 m · Lift-served vertical 1,609 m (5,279 ft) · 200 piste km (50 difficult km) · 27 lifts · Snowfall 1,072 cm / 422 in

Season 2026-27

Targets Nov 20 2026; closing not announced (OnTheSnow projects May 16 2027)ProjectedTo confirmSource

Fly to

Vancouver Intl (YVR) · 137 km, about 2 h 15 via Hwy 99Source

Peak window ticket

Unknown — No verified 2026-27 peak window price; resorts use dynamic pricing.

C$ 351 · skiresort.info listed adult day ticket (season not stated)Source

Passes

Epic Pass: Epic Pass unlimited · Epic Local within its 10 combined days, no peak datesSource

New for 2026-27

Showcase T-bar replaced by a fixed-grip quad to Blackcomb/Horstman Glacier terrainnewswire.ca / Vail Resorts newsroom

No. 8

Val Gardena (Dolomiti Superski)

South Tyrol, Italy

70.7/ 100

1,236–2,518 m · Lift-served vertical 1,282 m (4,206 ft) · 181 piste km (21 difficult km) · 79 lifts · Snowfall Unknown

Season 2026-27

Dec 4 2026 – Apr 4 2027 (per Val Gardena; snow permitting)To confirmSource

Fly to

Bolzano (BZO, small); Innsbruck (INN) 120 km; Verona (VRN) 190 km · BZO ~40 km, about 35 min; INN/VRN no official time publishedSource

Peak window ticket

Unknown — No verified 2026-27 peak window price; resorts use dynamic pricing.

€ 83 · skiresort.info listed adult day ticket (season not stated)Source

Passes

Ikon Pass: Ikon Pass 7 days · Ikon Base 5 days via Dolomiti Superski (Nov 15–Apr 15; Italian liability insurance required). Epic's Skirama Dolomiti is a different area.Source

New for 2026-27

Two new 10-person gondolas (Ruacia–Sochers–Bruno, Costabella) listed by skiresort.info – NOT confirmed in Dolomiti Superski's official 26/27 releasePartly verifiedskiresort.info

Listed by skiresort.info but not in Dolomiti Superski's official 26/27 release.

No. 9

KitzSki (Kitzbühel / Kirchberg)

Tyrol, Austria

70.4/ 100

800–2,000 m · Lift-served vertical 1,200 m (3,937 ft) · 188 piste km (20 difficult km) · 58 lifts · Snowfall Unknown

Season 2026-27

Resterkogel from Nov 6 2026; full linked area Dec 11 2026; closes Apr 4 2027Source

Fly to

Innsbruck (INN), Salzburg (SZG), Munich (MUC) · INN 96 km ~1 h 10; SZG 81 km ~1 h 30; MUC 127 km ~1 h 45 (by car)Source

Peak window ticket

Unknown — No verified 2026-27 peak window price; resorts use dynamic pricing.

€ 83 · skiresort.info listed adult day ticket (season not stated)Source

Passes

Ikon Pass: Ikon Pass 7 days · Ikon Base 5 days (Kitzbühel with Kirchberg and Mittersill)Source

New for 2026-27

No new KitzSki lift for 2026/27 found in official/Tirol press sourcesTirol press highlights, Sep 2026

No. 10

Revelstoke Mountain Resort

British Columbia, Canada

64.6/ 100

512–2,225 m · Lift-served vertical 1,713 m (5,620 ft) · 55 piste km (21 difficult km) · 7 lifts · Snowfall 1,050 cm / 413 in

Season 2026-27

Dec 5 2026 – Apr 11 2027 (planned)ProjectedSource

Fly to

Kelowna Intl (YLW) · ~190–200 km, about 2.5 h (shuttles 2.5–3 h); Revelstoke airport has no scheduled flightsSource

Peak window ticket

Unknown — No verified 2026-27 peak window price; resorts use dynamic pricing.

C$ 199 · skiresort.info listed adult day ticket (season not stated)Source

Passes

Ikon Pass: Ikon Pass 7 days · Ikon Base 5 days · Ikon Session (2–4 days)Source

Mountain Collective: Mountain Collective 2 daysSource

New for 2026-27

Cupcake Carpet learning zone at top of gondola, replacement of the lower gondola haul ropePartly verifieddrifttravel.com (secondary); Cupcake carpet confirmed on official stats page

Gondola rope replacement from a secondary travel site; only the Cupcake carpet is confirmed on the official stats page.

Outside the ranking

Editor's picks

Outside the ranking

Chamonix – Grands Montets

Haute-Savoie, France

55.3/ 100

Underrated by our numbers: only the Grands Montets sector (29 km) could be scored because skiresort.info lists Chamonix's areas separately, so its 55.3 understates the whole valley — 1,513 m of lift-served vertical, top experts-and-freeride rating, and Ikon/Mountain Collective access across all five areas.

1,252–2,765 m · Lift-served vertical 1,513 m (4,964 ft) · 29 piste km (14 difficult km) · 8 lifts · Snowfall Unknown

Passes

Ikon Pass: Ikon Pass 7 days · Ikon Base 5 days, combined across 5 Chamonix areas; Aiguille du Midi not includedSource

Mountain Collective: Mountain Collective 2 daysSource

Outside the ranking

Niseko United

Hokkaido, Japan

54.2/ 100

Famous for deep, frequent Hokkaido powder — but no verified average snowfall exists, so snowfall (15 points) couldn't be scored and its 54.2 doesn't reflect what it's known for. Top ratings for experts/freeride, snow reliability and accommodation.

255–1,188 m · Lift-served vertical 933 m (3,061 ft) · 50.8 piste km (10.2 difficult km) · 32 lifts · Snowfall Unknown

Passes

Ikon Pass: Ikon Pass 7 days · Ikon Base 5 days · Ikon Session (2–4 days)Source

Mountain Collective: Mountain Collective 2 daysSource

What most ski lists won't tell you

Headline stats are often inflated, sometimes by the resort's own figures.

  • Ischgl advertises 239 km of slopes. Its own audited breakdown shows that 239 km is the distance of a "sporty route" (skiing in turns). The horizontal GPS length is 163 km (ischgl.com).
  • Steamboat's stats page lists 3,741 "permitted" acres, but only 2,965 skiable acres (steamboat.com).
  • Jackson Hole markets "5,500+ acres", which counts about 3,000 acres of backcountry reached through gates. In-bounds terrain is 2,500 acres (jacksonhole.com).
  • Breckenridge's 12,998 ft summit is hike-to. The highest lift, Imperial, tops out at 12,840 ft (breckenridge.com).
  • This ranking therefore uses lift-served vertical and skiresort.info's measured piste-km throughout.

Epic and Ikon brought cheaper passes and much bigger crowds.

  • A University of Utah Eccles Institute analysis finds that Epic and Ikon cover 52% of US lift capacity, and 86% in Colorado. Season-pass prices fell, walk-up day tickets rose about 60% since the 1990s, and the cheap passes are the main cause of today's crowding, lift lines and traffic (Eccles Institute).
  • What it means on the ground: Ikon's 2026-27 pass comparison lists blackout dates of Dec 26–30, Jan 16–17 and Feb 13–14 for its restricted tiers (Ikon).
  • Jackson Hole again requires Ikon and Mountain Collective holders to reserve (SnowBrains).

"On the pass" means something different in Europe.

  • Epic gives only 3 consecutive days at Ski Arlberg, and only if you book partner lodging directly. It gives 5 consecutive days at Verbier and 7 at Les 3 Vallées (epicpass.com).
  • Ikon's Dolomiti Superski days work only Nov 15–Apr 15 (Ikon).
  • The #1 world pick, Tignes–Val d'Isère, is on no US mega-pass at all.

The real cost of a walk-up ticket: US peak days are 3–4× the Alps.

  • 2026-27 peak walk-up prices: Vail $374, Park City $369, Deer Valley $349, Breckenridge $332, Snowbird $239 (TownLift, Sep 4 2026).
  • Listed adult day tickets at the top Alpine areas: Tignes–Val d'Isère €75, Les 3 Vallées €84.20, Ski Arlberg €85, Verbier CHF 94, Zermatt CHF 116 (skiresort.info).
  • US resorts use dynamic pricing, so buying ahead is much cheaper. The peak price is a ceiling.

Altitude sickness is a real risk at the high Colorado resorts.

  • The CDC says about 25% of visitors sleeping above 8,000 ft (2,450 m) in Colorado get acute mountain sickness. It names Vail (lodging 8,150 ft) and Breckenridge (9,600 ft) specifically and advises taking it easy for the first 48 hours, with no alcohol (CDC Yellow Book 2026).
  • Big Alpine villages mostly sit lower (Zermatt's lowest lift base is about 1,560 m per skiresort.info), even though their lifts go higher.

What we couldn't verify

Verification notes (11)
  • Average snowfall for every Alpine/Dolomite resort, Lake Louise, Taos and Niseko. There is no official figure, and the OnTheSnow values are missing or contradictory, so snowfall is not scored for these resorts.
  • Closing dates not yet officially announced: Vail, Breckenridge, Palisades, Mammoth, Snowbird, Jackson Hole, Whistler. Deer Valley's is only projected. Where shown, these are OnTheSnow or skiresort.info projections.
  • skiresort.info day-ticket prices don't say which season they apply to.
  • Big Sky "first full season of Explorer Gondola/Kircliff" comes from a search summary of the press kit. The page itself wasn't opened.
  • Val Gardena's two new 10-person gondolas are listed by skiresort.info but not in Dolomiti Superski's official 26/27 release.
  • Revelstoke's lower gondola rope replacement comes from a secondary travel site.
  • Lift counts use skiresort.info's method and differ from resort claims: Deer Valley 41 vs 32 official, Whistler 27 vs 36.
  • Village scores are skiresort.info's editorial star ratings, which are subjective by nature.
  • Transfer times are resort or tourism-board estimates for normal conditions.
  • Close calls: Revelstoke (#10 world) drops below Lake Louise without snowfall scoring. Telluride (69.3) and Alta (68.4) only just miss the US top 10.
  • Chamonix was scored on Grands Montets alone (29 km) because skiresort.info lists the valley's areas separately, so its score understates the whole valley.

Stats from skiresort.info, OnTheSnow and official resort pages; season, transfer and pass facts link to their sources on each card.